My experiences with Strangers!

When you step out of your house, or look around while walking on roads, if you are in shop or in a bus, even for that matter if you are flying in a plane and of course right now, what’s something common apart from you?
There is at least a stranger; a person whom u donno at all – around you.
Isn’t it strange at times how we bump into someone whom we donno at all. A person whom we thought a stranger turns into a savior and then into a friend.

I would like to share one such indecent that happened to me. Its 7:30 A.M when I started to office. It’s a quiet morning, people going for morning walk, ladies chit chatting just after sending their kids to school and I was walking towards bus stop. Then I see suddenly three dogs running towards me which were till then quietly laying on their back. Immediately I shouted and gripped one of the ladies hands, I closed my eyes completely and said ‘m scared of dogs, please help me. I opened my eyes after a while to realize those dogs where running towards a dog which I didn’t observe before and it was behind me. Since then the lady always smiles looking at me and we exchange some words now and then.
At times we meet strangers who are just way too much annoying.

To buttress my point, let me share with you all another incident. One day I was going in a train to Chennai from Bangalore for an official purpose. Knowing that right from Day 1 it’s going to be hectic, I was trying hard to catch up with some sleep. The moment I dozed off, lady beside me started poking with her finger on my shoulder. When I opened my eyes, the lady almost kept her face into mine and asked –‘Just keep an eye on my bag’, as she had to wash her hands after having breakfast’ How annoying K
Had it ever happen to you that you had to trust a stranger, in spite of remembering; “Mom says – Not to talk with strangers”?

It was April afternoon; when I reached UK, a cab driver in Birmingham picked me at airport; who was very polite and nice talking. He drove me to my hotel and helped me with my luggage till doorsteps of the hotel. To my dismay, the hotel was closed that time. Luckily I had the contact number of the hotel person, when I called them up; they apologized for the inconvenience and informed that it would be open after an hour. I called up my teammates but they didn’t pick up my call since they were in meeting. I didn’t know what to do. I was shivering with cold, its drizzling and more over no shelter under which I can wait and I was carrying 30 kgs of luggage.

I returned the cell to the cab driver. He understood the situation and said, “Young lady, I can’t leave you at door steps. Please get into my taxi, I will be honored to take you for first ride in Cheltenham.” I looked into his eyes and agreed readily. He showed me the important places and after a while took me to his house. He opened the car door and asked me come in and I denied. Next moment I kept hands on my ears, closed my eyes and stopped breathing and started yelling – please take away these dogs frm me. I ‘m scared of dogs. Please Please.” After 2 minutes, he took away the dogs forcefully from me and locked them in the backyard. This time, his wife came and asked me to come in. We had a general talk for 15 minutes and then the cab driver took me back to the hotel. I was moved by his kindness but all I could say was ‘Thank You’ and for which he replied, ‘I’m Simon. You can call me Grand Pa if you see me around’. I was so pleased with Old man’s attitude towards a stranger and thought;
In this world we shuffle from place to place meeting heaps of people, may be it depends on our luck to find a special friend in a stranger but never forget even your attitude counts.
“Never lose sight of the fact that the most important yardstick of your success will be how you treat other people – your family, friends, and coworkers, and even strangers you meet along the way. “

Oxymoron that I also believe in, Strangers always need not be ppl whom you donno.

Leave a Reply

