Are you living your dream or living in dreams?

 “Follow your dream where ever it takes you to, as that’s the journey you would love to be part of.”-D.D – These words always ring in my ear when I think of dreams-coming-true-in-my-life.

Do we live all the dreams that we wish to?

At first, let me share my childhood dreams:

If someone asked me in my childhood, “what you want to become when you grow up?”, I used to say even without a pause; “A doctor”.  Well ‘m still Dr.D but only in dreams.

 I remember the situation when I held my mom’s hand tight and with tears rolling out from my eyes seeing an old lady in front of temple in tattered clothes and miserably lying on street. That day the coin that my mom gave me to offer to the God, I remember giving to that lady while going back to home from temple. That’s the day, I dreamt to see India with NO poverty.

My other dreams are, to read all the books that so far published in the world and to express in BOOKS all my views about this world and to the world.

My silly dream would be, to meet SRK one day. I know I will. 😉  To work from B-44 of Infy (crazy dream infact). To build 7 houses, each one in a different rainbow color to move from one to another whenever I get bored with that color. (Wild childhood dream;P and believe me not a fantasy at all!).

At times reality takes the shape of memories or dreams, in my case it’s listening to my father’s goodnight wishes before going to bed daily.And I miss him.

Well, don’t come into a wrong conclusion that I lived so far only in dreams. Here I go with the best moments of my life where I lived / live to the fullest: After 10 years staying away from home, I ‘m again living with mom in Bengaluru and ‘m loving it. The other dreams that I lived would be, when I got into flight for the first time in my life, while flying to China. When I cheered kids, during my recent visit to an orphanage. When one of my articles got published in The Hindu during my college days. When I topped thrice in my college, consecutively. When I received my first Salary in Infy. When I gave my first speech in Infy Toastmasters (after almost eight years I got onto stage that day.) When I received 4 prices in KTDM Club (on the same day), for indoors games that they conducted during my teens. When I got a mark more than my sis in tenth board. (This one is just to tease my sister who is damn good at studies and has great IQ. ) When I recently visited Stratford-Upon-Avon and called my mom to say- ‘Your lil D is at Shakespeare’s Birthplace mom’. When every time my niece asks me to sing a lullaby and I sing to help her sleep. Most of all, the wonderful people whom I met in life and with whom I share the joy of success and true happiness.

These are few of the best moments in my life which I treasure most. However small they are they mean a lot to me as those are the times I enjoyed/enjoy my life to the fullest and when I look back at them I know I was in lime light.

I know there are times when you enjoy your day to day life. But at times the truth bothers you and scares you being away from your dreams. The shades of your hope get darker and darker, right in front of you.  It makes you feel so alarmed that you end up living not even in dreams. Read my recent blog – ‘The ignored’ which states what if the ignored dreams could speak.

Few random questions to you: But how often do you get time to concentrate on your interests in life when you have to stay focus with work at your hand? What do you do, when you know you are bound to leave your dream as you are diverting yourself away from it? Would you still say YES, when you know you have to say NO to the present to live your dream in real? Do you take the pain of choking your dreams to death or would prefer to sacrifice everything possible just to enjoy living your dream? Above all, will you live in dreams to make others live theirs? I will let you answer these questions to yourself.

In my opinion; YOUR DREAMS WILL COME CHASING U, WHEN U LIVE THE LIFE THE WAY U WANT. – D.D

14 thoughts on “Are you living your dream or living in dreams?

  1. beyond says:

    your article is so straight from the heart, simple and elegant…
    We keep running after the dreams without even realizing how much it will take out of us to make our dreams come true. To dream is quite an easy task, to materialize our dreams is a tough one. The question is whether you can emerge victorious at the end of the dawn. Every morning you wake up with a dream, every night you sleep with a dream, but are you courageous enough to live upto your dreams or will you keep dreaming and it would be just the dreams?

  2. Rachit says:

    This is simply amazing. I am so glad I ran into this post today. I am on the same cross-road for a while. Sometimes(or always) you are doing something else in your life but you are meant to do something else.

  3. just another girl next door says:

    oooh…lovely blog… Enjoyed reading it and how true are these words…often we run after chasing our dreams and sometimes forget all about living the moment… Very truly said that our dreams will come true if we live our life the way we want…. M totally inspired… And you have shared beautiful experiences..really..
    Having said that , i believe that dreams are the one thing that help us survive in this confused complicated world, i believe that dreams are the only sanest thing left cause evrything else is tainted.. 🙂 enjoy your life by living your dream, not chasing them.. 🙂

  4. PCC Advantage says:

    What a fantastic post! I love that your dreams vary from ending poverty in India to having rainbow-coloured houses; it shows every aspect of your personality. You care deeply about others but also have a fun side to you…love it. 🙂

    Keep on dreaming and working towards accomplishing those dreams, Divyaakella!

Leave a Reply

